Posted by: johanander | August 23, 2007

The Game

It is crazy, it is so easy to become a part of a new society, to become a member in a new group. There is something happening all the time. There are bath that’s need to be taken, walks that we do. Then you have to cook and do dishes, maybe take a bath, oh man, those Icelandic thermal pools. Every day there is school, courses in the Icelandic language and the culture. On lunch break we might go for a bath. Wednesdays is football days, when a group of exchange students go to one of the football fields and kick some ball. It is great fun, like the world cup every week, mixed in two teams.

thegame1.jpg
Jean-Piere Papin takes the corner. Yes, it is the Atlantic Ocean in the background.

Just to give you one example: Like the last goal, when Ballack (of course that isn’t his real name, but he is German so that is what I call him) interrupted an attack by Jean-Piere Papin and passed the ball to me. I took it, dribbled Jürgen Klinsmann so good that I he almost fell into the Atlantic Ocean. Then I speeded up and suddenly realized that now there was no one between me and their great goolkeeper – Oliver Kahn. (As you probably noticed, there are a lot of Germans in Iceland). It might be scary when a German goalkeeper runs out to cut you of. But I kept cool. I did not try a Zlatan. Instead, as JOHAN elmANDER, just before Oliver tackled me, I sent the ball to Ole Gunnar Solskjær, who came running from the right.

The rest is history, World Team One had beaten World Team Two.
I celebrated the victory by taking a bath with Chapuisat, Jean-Piere Papin, the Germans and Lotta Schelin.

the-game2.jpg
One of my wonderful goals.

thegame3.jpg
We did not run all the time.

thegame4.jpg…but when we kicked the ball, we did it with all our strength.


Responses

  1. Gott att höra att försäsongsträningen dragit igång. Hoppas du för nogrann bok över potentiella värvningar! Förresten, du kan meddela att vi är beredda att betala övergångssummor i valspäck!

  2. Fotbollen verkar rolig, men jag undrar var den öppna eldstaden tog vägen i ditt rum och vem passar hästen när du har lektioner hela dagarna, måste komma över snart och reda ut alla dessa undringar


Leave a comment

Categories